The Fender Forum
NEW! LPF Facebook Page
NEW! LPF Instagram Page
Merchandise & Donations
NEW! Burst Serial Log Home Page
LPF Homesite

I've been playing for 8 years now!

Hey.
    I've been playing for 8 years, learning things here and there but I had such a weird attitude about playing and learning guitar.

It took me a good while to realise that the positions of scales are just continuations of the same scale and once you learn them you can play them up and down the neck.

I had the idea that in order to learn a chord you should really just know the chord shape and me being lazy only ever learned the open chords, bar chords and a handful of 7th chords. I never thought that if you learned what made a chord you could then build them yourself instead of relying on knowing shapes.

Another thing is that I never thought it was a good idea to copy certain licks off of other guitarists. So many of those pentatonic blues cliches the likes of Hendrix and Page would play I wouldn't incorporate it into my own playing because I thought oh that's already been done so I cant do it. I really only learned to solo about a year ago because of this.

When ever i tried to learn a new technique, Tapping for example i wouldn't ever actually practice it , I'd do the example I was given and would be like "I can do it so that's that".
    Last edited by T.Allen; 10-23-19 at 09:35 AM. Reason: Spammer

Les Paul Forum Member Texas Blues's Avatar

Re: I've been playing for 8 years now!

I have no use for barre chords.

Scales.

Theory.

Tapping.

Or any proper musicianship.

I play rock and roll.

Time, even a short amount of time spent playing intelligently, having the understanding and knowledge of the what and why, is more important than time wasted playing like a monkey.

You engage the heart. It is not a skill but rather your personal identity, passion, reason for expressing yourself musically. You learn by living, expressed though honestly.