The Fender Forum
NEW! LPF Facebook Page
NEW! LPF Instagram Page
Merchandise & Donations
NEW! Burst Serial Log Home Page
LPF Homesite

60's Les Paul Custom

I work in the IT field and my boss, the C.T.O claims to have a 1964 Les Paul Custom. He picked it up in 1984 from a music store in Germany.
    He says that a few years ago he had it value appraised from Gibson, so in his mind its confirmed a 1964 Les Paul Custom.
    However I've been doing some reading as I was trying to get a general idea of current value and I've run across some forums that suggest there were no Les Pauls made between 1962 and 1968 making it impossible for this to be a 1964 Les Paul. I don't know that much about Gibsons as I've mainly been a Fender guy. I owned a Les Paul traditional a few years ago that I did not keep and now a 2013 R7 that I can't see ever parting with.
    So just wondering if someone can confirm that this is fact that there were no Les Pauls made between 62 and 68 and if they can point me to a link with some credible evidence of this so that I could show my boss that he has the date wrong.
    If so, it could be an earlier model 1960 (would be even better but not likely) or a newer model (1969 or newer)

Re: 60's Les Paul Custom

Quote Originally Posted by golfnut View Post
    I work in the IT field and my boss, the C.T.O claims to have a 1964 Les Paul Custom. He picked it up in 1984 from a music store in Germany.
    He says that a few years ago he had it value appraised from Gibson, so in his mind its confirmed a 1964 Les Paul Custom.
    However I've been doing some reading as I was trying to get a general idea of current value and I've run across some forums that suggest there were no Les Pauls made between 1962 and 1968 making it impossible for this to be a 1964 Les Paul. I don't know that much about Gibsons as I've mainly been a Fender guy. I owned a Les Paul traditional a few years ago that I did not keep and now a 2013 R7 that I can't see ever parting with.