The Fender Forum
NEW! LPF Facebook Page
LilyPix
Merchandise & Donations
NEW! Burst Serial Log Home Page
LPF Homesite
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Does Gibson still use a REAL Nitrocellulose Finish to the wood.....

or is it really a Poly undercoat with a layer of Nitro on top just so they can call them Nitrocellulose finishes?

I've heard different stories but can't seem to find a DEFINITE REAL answer.

Les Paul Forum Member

Re: Does Gibson still use a REAL Nitrocellulose Finish to the wood.....

I'm not sure.

I would guess no, simply because I can't imagine how well a bond nitro would make against poly.

Of course I'm no expert on petro-chemicals, nor do I mix the stuff at Gibson!

Nitro, baby -- all the way!
    Mike Slubowski

* "Gibson guitars are like potato chips - you can't have just one!"

* "So many Gibsons to love, so little time..."

Quote Originally Posted by MikeSlub View Post
    Nitro, baby -- all the way!
    Are you 100% positive about that? I've heard stories that Gibson quit using all Nitro in the mid 90's and now uses a Poly undercoat with Nitro as a top coat just so they can say they still use Nitro finishes.

Quote Originally Posted by access View Post
    I'm not sure.

I would guess no, simply because I can't imagine how well a bond nitro would make against poly.

Of course I'm no expert on petro-chemicals, nor do I mix the stuff at Gibson!

It bonds fine. Poly is often used as a pore filler and nitro over top. Or in the case of Fender and their American Vintage Series, it's as was asked....poly all the way until the final coat of Nitro so they can say it is nitro finished.

Gibson is nitro but more and more placticizer recently.

Les Paul Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by emg32 View Post
    Are you 100% positive about that? I've heard stories that Gibson quit using all Nitro in the mid 90's and now uses a Poly undercoat with Nitro as a top coat just so they can say they still use Nitro finishes.
    maybe you're talking about Fender.