• Guys, we've spent considerable money converting the Les Paul Forum to this new XenForo platform, and we have ongoing monthly operating expenses. THE "DONATIONS" TAB IS NOW WORKING, AND WE WOULD APPRECIATE ANY DONATIONS YOU CAN MAKE TO KEEP THE LES PAUL FORUM GOING! Thank you!

Marshall Studio Vintage - Any Reviews?

CatManDoo88

Hey, I've done a search of this subforum and I was surprised that I didn't find any reviews of Marshall's new Studio Vintage amps, which are supposed to reasonably replicate Plexi tones at studio/home friendly volumes.

Has anyone had any experience with these? Based on the YouTube demos, they sound pretty good at doing the 1959 Super Lead type tones. Anyone know if they are any good at replicating Bluesbreaker-type tones (I know different output tubes)? I'm considering replacing my Origin 20c with one because I find it leans a little too modern sounding with its preamp-based gain. I'm a hobbyist and 20 watts seems to be the most volume I can get away with in the basement without my wife divorcing me.

jrgtr42

As far as I can tell, they haven't been released to the wild yet (or if they have, it's been just a few weeks.)
I do like the theory behind them, and hope they do what is claimed. Not as thrilled with the price, though - $1300 street I believe.

sonar

Some people on the other forum bought a few. It's hard to gauge an amp, solely based off the internet, during the initial honeymoon phase.

I almost plugged into a SV20 combo (the model that's supposed to be a 20 watt Super Lead) at CME a couple weeks back, but decided to audition a Tone King Falcon Grande instead.

Supronaut

I went against the grain and bought a SV20C 10" Combo. I just like Combos and I don't have a cab to pair a head at the moment.

I like it so far. Really nails that super lead tone to my ears.

I can't play it like I can my Supro Black Magick. It's friggin' loud. But with a volume pedal in the FX loop I can enjoy it at decent levels.