• Guys, we've spent considerable money converting the Les Paul Forum to this new XenForo platform, and we have ongoing monthly operating expenses. THE "DONATIONS" TAB IS NOW WORKING, AND WE WOULD APPRECIATE ANY DONATIONS YOU CAN MAKE TO KEEP THE LES PAUL FORUM GOING! Thank you!

NGD: Nashville Tuned Taylor GS Mini Acoustic

Ed Driscoll

Les Paul Forum Member
Here are a couple of photos I took earlier tonight on my iPhone of the new Taylor with its big brother, a 2007 Gibson Everly Brothers Acoustic, plus a photo from Sweetwater of the Taylor's back:

i-SD2Rd7P-L.jpg

i-sDx4M8Z-L.jpg

i-bDd5Pxn-L.jpg

Here's the background story on the guitar and its tuning.

After I built my project studio in 2016, I started playing a lot more acoustic guitar, because of how easy it is to put up a mic and record in the acoustically-treated room. My 2007 Roland VG-99 guitar modeling system has a patch for Nashville Tuning, which is the top six strings of a 12-strung guitar, and I found myself using it fairly often alongside my Gibson acoustic, but it sounded very modeled, like a guitar with an early piezo pickup. So I finally bit the bullet and bought a dedicated acoustic in Nashville tuning to record in the room with a nice high-quality condenser mic.

Apparently, this tuning was invented by Ray Edenton, one of the Everly Brothers’ backup guitarists, in the early 1960s:
In the 1960s, it was usual at Nashville recording sessions to have two acoustic guitarists. One of the guitars often played with a capo for complex chord voicings. Then during an Everly Brothers session, Ray Edenton replaced a regular wound G string on his acoustic with a plain string tuned an octave higher. This tuning got the name "High Third" and became quite widespread because it added the sparkle to a standard rhythm guitar without dropping any of the low notes that a capo would take away.