LPF Homesite

Go Back   Les Paul Forum > . > Sunburst Pub
Register FAQ Mark Forums Read Calendar Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 05-10-07, 04:12 AM   #1
Olsen
Les Paul Forum Member

Norlin years

Hi guys.
I often hear about the Norlin Years.When exactely was that?
I believe that I heard something about that guitars from that period should have lower quality.I got a 1980 LP Custom that I regard as my best guitar.Is that from the Norlin era?
Thanks.
Chriss
Olsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-07, 04:28 AM   #2
dege
Les Paul Froum Member

Re: Norlin years

Do a search.
dege is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-07, 04:31 AM   #3
Olsen
Les Paul Forum Member

Hi...I did....No match...
Old 05-10-07, 05:21 AM   #4
Captain Jack
Les Paul Forum Member

Olsen I am by no means an expert but I believe the Norlin years were from the mid 70's (I think that is right) to 86 (I am almost positive about that). There is a great book you can find at Amazon.com entitled 50 years of the Gibson Les Paul which has a wealth of information.

My understanding from reading and talking with people is that "generally" the Norlin years did not produce the best guitars. If you look in the Blue Book of Electric Guitars (I have seen those at your local Barnes and Nobel) you will see that reflected in what they value those guitars. That being said I also see those guitars selling for more and more each year.

As for me I tend to keep an eye out for 1987 until the present. Hope that helps.
Captain Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-07, 05:26 AM   #5
Olsen
Les Paul Forum Member

Hi...Thank you,Captain Jack.Very helpfull.I will check out the book you mention.
Chriss
Old 05-10-07, 06:52 AM   #6
GlassSnuff
Les Paul Forum Member