Vintage Guitar Registry
LPF Homesite

Go Back   Les Paul Forum > . > Sunburst Pub
Register FAQ Mark Forums Read Calendar Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 01-25-07, 07:47 PM   #1
Axel
Les Paul Forum Member

The Peter Green mod once again.

Excuse me, I know this has been discussed a trillion times but there tend to be different oppinions on HOW to do the Peter Green mod.

According to Jol Danzig, Peter Greens guitar was "magnetically" out of phase. I'm no electrician and that in combination with me just being a hobby english-speaker I can't quite sum up the equation.

All I know is that Peter Greens old Les Paul had the neck pickup flipped the other way around. Now this is easy to do and reversable in 15 seconds. But I assume there is some soldering involved?

If I just have to take the pickup out and turn it with the adjustable pole-pieces towards the bridge I might try it, it will only require a screwdriver, but me getting into soldering? Ain't gonna happen, hehe. I'm no handy man (not in that way atleast).

Can anyone shed some light on this? (And I've searched the forum but everyone are too good english speakers, I can't catch up the basics...)

Quote:
Originally Posted by camohoyt View Post
I'm sure only Axel knows if they have wax potting. He knows stuff that Gibson don't even know about there own guitars. Like an angel from Les Paul Heaven!
Axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-07, 08:05 PM   #2
dwagar
Les Paul Forum Member

Re: The Peter Green mod once again.

The PG mod has the magnet reversed (polarity), not just the pickup in backwards.

Quote:
Originally Posted by reswot
A 50's Special is, IMO, the coolest guitar ever made.
dwagar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-07, 08:11 PM   #3
drjimmy
Les Paul Forum Member

Hi Axel,

There are two ways to do this but unfortunately both of them require soldering.

1. Remove the pickup cover and manually flip the magnet.