LPF Homesite

Go Back   Les Paul Forum > . > Historic District
Register FAQ Mark Forums Read Calendar Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 02-05-06, 03:49 PM   #1
bobbovisme
Les Paul Froum Member

POTS ???? AUDIO or LINEAR TAPER ??

Ok..
From what I've heard original Burst's had audio taper pots .. so why is Gibson putting in these linear pots ?? I just got my R8 a few weeks ago and don't mind the linears but i keep hearing that the audio's give you alot more range and control ... Is this true ????
bobbovisme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-06, 03:57 PM   #2
reswot
Les Paul Forum Member

Re: POTS ???? AUDIO or LINEAR TAPER ??

I'm no expert, but I think that I've heard the old pots had a taper that was somewhere in between linear and log (audio).

The log pots give you a smoother taper from from 0-5 and quite abrupt changes from 7 - 10. The linear give you more abrupt changes from 0-3 and smoother from 5 - 10.

Apparently, Gibson feels the current linear pots are a better match; others feel the log pots are better. I prefer the log pots on a tone control, but can go either way for the volume.

That said, I swapped the pots in my 05 R8 for CTS audio pots. I wish, though, I'd kept the linear pots in the volume positions.
reswot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-06, 04:53 PM   #3
JVIoneyman
Les Paul Forum Member

I HATE LINEAR TAPER!!!!

Audio Taper gives you a smoother sweep from 0 - 10 unlike the ones on the Historics that have two tones on the knob. Look up RS KIT if you want an easy way to replace them. Most people like them...I am about to upgrade to it as well, but I haven't had the toie yet. The True tone rs kit is the one most people get, but the new super pots they came out with is supposed to have a better taper.
Old 02-05-06, 07:27 PM   #4
bluesjuke
Les Paul Forum Member

I have the RS True Tone kit & I don't have any abrupt volume or tone changes anywhere on the whole taper 0-10.