![]() |
|
|
#1 |
|
Les Paul Forum Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,104
|
Fleabay scam of the year!!!
Here's an Ebay add for a '96 '58 plaintop that was redone by Murphy.
http://cgi.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI...tem=1492823787 Now, I do know the guitar and it had alot of original parts put on it. So the item description is correct. But,now you get to the pictures! And if I'm not wrong,all of the pictures except the ones of the back,control cavity,and fingerboard are lifted from the pictures Karaoke Karl took of the real Kieth Richards Guitar when he was in England! Here's the link to those pictures. http://albums.photopoint.com/j/Album...f=0&sp=1&showa There is not one actual picture of the top or front of the '96 guitar in the ad! Notice the same roled up strap by the cutaway in the pictures on Ebay and in the pictures of the real K.R. guitar! |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Les Paul Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The BEST Forum on the Internet
Posts: 3,995
|
no doubt those are Karl's pictures.
This guy is busted! I don't get it, how does someone think they can get away with this, on a 10K item no less! Is this fraud? Last edited by Spose : 12-03-01 at 03:54 PM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Les Paul Forum Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,104
|
Is this fraud?
Yes,in fact it is fraud! Karl owns the rights to those pictures and could sue the guy for copyright infringement! |
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
In the Zone/Backstage Pass
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: WWW.CAFEWAH.COM
Posts: 42,340
|
ahhhhhhhhh
FLEA BAY FLEA BAY FLEA BAY BUSTED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
THE KING OF CYPRESS Nelson |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
In the Zone/Backstage Pass
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: WWW.CAFEWAH.COM
Posts: 42,340
|
KARL
HEY KARL HOW MUCH WAS THAT FLIGHT TO ENGLAND!!!!!!!!!!!
THE KING OF CYPRESS NELSON F |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Banned
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,343
|
WTF............
Boy does that guitar look familiar! As I remeber it though, it didn't have any flame or curl to it. Oh..............I see! Presto-Changeo! One Is the REAL 96 Historic, and the other is Keith's guitar. THAT makes a lot of sense!! HEY................ some of those photo's also look familiar....... like I lived there once or something???? E-mail time!! |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Les Paul Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: In the boonies, 12 miles from the nearest McDonald's
Posts: 15,135
|
Go git 'em, Dean! :guns
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Les Paul Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Somewhere in Alabama
Posts: 1,016
|
I recgonize some of the photo's from the Japanese Les Paul Fan Site.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Les Paul Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 13,541
|
What a joke.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#10 |
|
Les Paul Forum Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 168
|
It's odd that that seller has been on Ebay for 2.5 years and has a pretty good feedback rating?????
|
|
|
|
|
|
#11 |
|
Banned
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,035
|
Says the guitar can be seen and played in Larchmont, NY, which is 2 minutes from my office in New Rochelle, NY. I'd get a kick out of checking it out, but I wouldn't be comfortable faking being a real buyer.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#12 |
|
In the Zone/Backstage Pass
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 8,867
|
Oh come on XO you're a scumbag lawyer...remember? That's coming from a fellow scumbag!;)
|
|
|
|
|
|
#13 |
|
Les Paul Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Londinium, UK
Posts: 3,607
|
This is the silliest thing I have EVER seen. Cosmo will get a real laugh out of this one, at least up to the point he gets on a plane to cut the guys balls off!
What do you think the odds are the seller is someone who at least lurks around here? ;) |
|
|
|
|
|
#14 |
|
Banned
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,343
|
The guitar is a GREAT guitar and to kill it with all the bullshit about Keith Richards is crazy.
To each their own! |
|
|
|
|
|
#15 | |
|
Banned
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,035
|
Quote:
spin I'm drawing up a complaint on behalf of the forum members. It has no merit, but who cares?? It'll hassle him to death dealing with the NY court system 2 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#16 |
|
Les Paul Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 79
|
What's really crazy is you can tell he actually doctored the backgrounds on some of those photos. He "erased" the tile lines on the floor in that one picture and got rid of some of the leaves in the first one taken outdoors! What is this guy thinking??
|
|
|
|
|
|
#17 |
|
Les Paul Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: In the boonies, 12 miles from the nearest McDonald's
Posts: 15,135
|
"What is this guy thinking?"
Must... Buy... More... Crack... |
|
|
|
|
|
#18 |
|
LPF Recording Artist
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: coming to a town near you
Posts: 597
|
I can't believe this :ahole 's aucton is still up on ebay:dead:
Stupidity or balls.......which one? |
|
|
|
|
|
#19 |
|
Banned
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,343
|
CarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrACK!!
|
|
|
|
|
|
#20 |
|
In the Zone/Backstage Pass
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: WWW.CAFEWAH.COM
Posts: 42,340
|
HA HA
CAN SOMEONE PLEASE TELL ME WHAT CRACK IZZZZZZZZ!
THE KING OF CYPRESS NELSON F |
|
|
|
|
|
#21 |
|
Les Paul Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Bluesland
Posts: 294
|
Seems he's changed the description 4 times already. I think he took off all the copied photos, too. Though I'm not all that familiar with which ones were copied.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#22 |
|
Les Paul Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Londinium, UK
Posts: 3,607
|
Oh they most definitely are still there! I was curious about the claim that it has original backplates on it since 50's control cavity backplates won't fit on a contemporary Paul including R9's as far as I know. Maybe Murphy re-routed pre finish.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#23 | |
|
Les Paul Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Bluesland
Posts: 294
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#24 |
|
Les Paul Forum Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,104
|
Somebody with big balls or no brain(probably the 2nd) actually used the "Buy it Now" option on this thing!!!!!
|
|
|
|
|
|
#25 |
|
Banned
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,343
|
I bet a nickle it was a set-up!
Last edited by Goodwood : 12-05-01 at 08:35 AM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#26 |
|
Les Paul Forum Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 168
|
********: Yep. To expand on that, here is some further speculation: the seller was getting a ton of crap via email and he has also probably read this very thread. The heat was getting to be more than he could take, so he decided to have a friend bid on the guitar to make us think the deal actually closed and was legit. When in fact he probably decided to bite the bullet, pay the Ebay seller fees, and move on.
By the way, is the serial number legit? If the seller actually has a guitar, he may hold on to it for awhile until things cool down. But keep your eyes peeled....I bet that guitar will show up for sale again in the near future with a more subdued sales pitch. By the way, you guys who emailed the seller.....how did the conversations go? |
|
|
|
|
|
#27 |
|
Prince of Darkburst
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: sunny southern california
Posts: 1,648
|
You think the seller is going to eat the e-bay fee ? Thats at least a couple hundred bucks. How much someone want to wager e-bay gets a bogus buyer report from the seller ?!!
__________________
It is not hands that summon us. It is .... desire |
|
|
|
|
|
#28 | |
|
Banned
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,343
|
Quote:
The serial # is correct! I know because, at one time, that guitar was mine! |
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|